Glapthorn Parish Council consists of seven councillors. Generally, any person who is on the electoral roll; or has lived or worked within the parish for 12 months, may stand for election.

The Council appoints a chairman, elected from and by the other councillors; and the Council is administered by a Parish Clerk, who is an employee and does not vote.

The Council is responsible for running the parish, including setting an annual precept (the money needed to run the  parish), consideration of planning applications, and dealing with matters such as flooding, footpaths, traffic, local crime, litter, emergency plans and safety. The work can be rewarding and is not onerous – comprising a few hours each month and six meetings a year.

If you are interested in becoming part of England’s oldest system of public administration, please get in touch with the parish clerk, Alan Tresadern (Tel: 275281) who will be able to explain what is involved
in more detail – or any of the present councillors, whose names are published on the village notice board, this web site and our Facebook page.

Why not come along to our next meeting and see what it is all about.

Click here for more information about serving as a Parish Councillor:

All about Parish and Town Councils